Gabriele Mitelli

Posted on by
photo by Ziga Koritnik

Gabriele Mitelli (Brescia, 1988) is a musician, composer and performer. He works in experimental music and avant-garde jazz. His main instrument is the trumpet, but he plays many wind instruments and modular synthesizers as well. He has created sound installations and site-specific performances. 

“Young trumpet player Gabriele Mitelli brings a doncherryesque quality to the projects he is involved in, but his expressiveness is undoubtedly a twenty-first century’s one. (he has) the potential to bring a whole new audience to the genre.” (Enrico Bettinello)

Watch and listen to him solo
Watch him in an art installation

Three Tsuru Origami

photo by Mario Coppola

Gabriele Mitelli – cornet, soprano sax, voice, percussion
John Edwards – double bass
Mark Sanders – drums

Gabriele Mitelli’s European trio has a clear mission statement: to distance itself from cliché, and to take the path less travelled. The music is a journey to the heart of improvisation, where jazz is once again a gamble – an edgy practice where risk-taking is central to progress. Mitelli’s bandmates are two great English musicians, for whom noise and revolt are a way of life: bassist John Edwards, and drummer Mark Sanders. All three are tireless experimenters, who have played in various combinations alongside the likes of Evan Parker, Roscoe Mitchell, Sunny Murray, Peter Brötzmann, Louis Moholo-Moholo, and Wadada Leo Smith: collaborations which speak of courage and freedom, integrity, and commitment. Brace yourselves: there is a whole world to discover here.


Star Splitter

photo: Star Splitter by giulocopoblanco

Rob Mazurek – piccolo trumpet, electronics, voice
Gabriele Mitelli – cornet, soprano sax, electronics, voice

Facing each other. No filters, no mediations. Through mirrors and mutual recalls, constantly walking the tightrope. Rob Mazurek and Gabriele Mitelli: trumpeters who are not just trumpeters, musicians who made the ‘beyond’ and the ‘elsewhere’ their way of life. Mazurek, a revered master. At the heart of the Chicago scene for almost two decades now, catalyst of energies, tireless experimenter and focal point between the dancing legacy of Sun Ra and the uncompromising impulses of the most non-aligned (post-)rock, between the lesson of Bill Dixon and the majestic path of the AACM generation. Mitelli, young and wayward, instinctive and courageous in rushing headlong into the less comfortable situations and the most unlikely contexts. They had to meet one day. It’s about affinity and consonance. A matter of life. A matter of music.

“The duo’s playing was raw, uninhibited and real. Their sonic cornucopia, wild and free, is one of the most exciting and convincing meldings of electronic and acoustic forces I’ve heard” (Andy Hamilton)

Listen and watch

E.G.O. – European Galactic Orchestra

E.G.O. by Rossetti Phocus

Gabriele Mitelli – trumpet, electronics
Tobias Delius – tenor sax
Pierre Borell – alto sax
Giancarlo Nino Locatelli – clarinets
Christophe Rocher – clarinets
Sebi Tramontana – trombone
Per Åke Holmlander – tuba
Alexander Hawkins – piano
Christelle Sery – guitar
Luca Tilli – cello 
John Edwards – double bass
Cristiano Calcagnile – drums


Please see Mitelli’s website for all his projects.