Bio of Fire! Orchestra

Posted on by

Mariam Wallentin – voice
Simon Ohlsson – voice
Sofia Jernberg – voice
Niklas Barnö – trumpet
Magnus Broo – trumpet
Goran Kajfes – trumpet
Emil Strandberg – trumpet
Mats Äleklint – trombone
Per Åke Holmlander – tuba
Anna Högberg – alto sax
Mats Gustafsson – tenor sax
Elin Larsson – tenor sax
Jonas Kullhammar – bass sax
Martin Küchen – baritone sax
Fredrik Ljungkvist – baritone sax, clarinet
Christer Bothèn – bass clarinet, guimbri
Andreas Söderström – guitar
Sören Runolf – guitar
David Stackenäs – guitar
Sten Sandell – synthesizer and harmonium
Martin Hederos – organ, keyboards
Joachim Nordwall – electronics
Johan Berthling – el bass
Joel Grip – bass
Dan Berglund – bass
Andreas Werliin – drums
Johan Holmegard – drums
Raymond Strid – drums

The core of this group consists of Fire! trio (Mats Gustafsson, Johan Berthling and Andreas Werliin – members of The Thing, Tape and Wildbirds & Peacedrums). Fire! is all about burning up tradition and blazing new paths and fresh approaches in improvised music approaches informed equally by garage punk, electroacoustics and the noise of heavy industry.

With Fire! Orchestra the trio takes its musical adventures to the next level: a sonic behemoth comprising 28 members from Swedish jazz, improv and avant rock that should be unmanageable, but turns out to possess the elegance and lucidity of the great free-jazz bigbands of the past. Fire! Orchestra follows in these mighty footprints, but it’s also an odysseythat takes its own route, with post-rock/krautrock diversions along the way.

Fire! Orchestra played it’s first concert in Stockholm, in January 2012, followed by a
Scandinavian tour a year later. Concerts in the rest of Europe followed soon after that.

The first album, ‘Exit!’ was released in January 2013, followed by ‘Enter’ in 2014 – both on Rune Grammofon.

The members of Fire! Orchestra stem from many well known groups in the jazz and rock worlds: Tonbruket, Tape, Nacka Forum. Paavo, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, Gush, Mariam the Believer, Angles 9, Elin Larsson Group, Swedish azz, The Thing, Kege Snö, Boots Brown, Lokomotiv Konkret, Atomic, Yun Kan lives, Dungen, Ass, Silverbullit etc