Bio of Atomic

Posted on by

Atomic with Hans by Sergio Merino 2Fredrik Ljungkvist – reeds
Magnus Broo – trumpet
Håvard Wiik – piano
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten – bass
Hans Hulbaekmo – drums

Atomic was established in 2000 and already after their first two studio albums Feet Music (2002) and Boom Boom (2003), both their growing audience and music reviewers alike began to perceive them as an original flavor with an entirely individual energy that few Scandinavian jazz groups could match. Even though initially thought of as a sort of rebellion to the quaintness of the “Scandinavian Sound” which had become exemplified by Norwegian artists on labels such as ECM, Atomic found themselves becoming a new sort of unique sound on their own. An explosive blend of American free-jazz with European characteristics is how some reviewers have described them. Or better yet, “part academic lecture, part a fun night out on the town”, is how the band describes themselves, and is what makes their sound truly Atomic.

While they make no secret of their admiration for leading American jazz musicians such as Duke Ellington, Archie Shepp, Charles Mingus and George Russell, just to mention a few, the music of Atomic is also mixed with an equal love of European free jazz and improvised music. They regard the American and European jazz traditions as an inspiration rather than a restriction, as a springboard to set their own direction and position within jazz music.

No strangers to the touring circuit, Atomic were on the road almost as soon as they were formed, and they have since 2000 been touring extensively in Europe, Japan and the US. They have released 12 CD’s including their 2010 releases “Theater tilters Vol 1 & 2”, in connection with their 10 year anniversary, and “There’s a hole in the mountain” in 2013.

In 2014 drummer Paal Nilssen-Love quit the band, to be replaced by Norwegian Hans Hulbaekmo.


Feet Music (Jazzland 2001)
Boom Boom (Jazzland 2003)
Bikini Tapes (Jazzland 2005)
Happy New Ears (Jazzland 2006)
Retrograde (Jazzland 2008)
Theater Tilters Vol.1 & 2. (Jazzland 2010)
Here comes Everybody (Jazzland 2011)
There’s a hole in the mountain (Jazzland Rec. 2013)
Lucidity (Jazzland 2015)

Atomic VS Vandermark 5 “The Flamable Poster Boxset” (Attavistic 2004)
Atomic/School Days “Nuclear Assembly Hall (Okka Disc 2004)
Atomic School Days “Distill” (Okka Disc 2008)

Bio of Atomic | Press about Atomic | Music of Atomic | Videos of Atomic | Photo’s of Atomic | Concerts of Atomic