Angles 9

Posted on by

photo by Francesca Patella

Goran Kajfes– trumpet
Magnus Broo – trumpet
Eirik Hegdal – baritone + sopranino sax
Mats Äleklint – trombone
Martin Küchen – altsax, leader
Johan Berthling – bass
Alexander Zethson – piano
Mattias Ståhl – vibraphone
Konrad Agnas– drums

Slowly growing from Angles 6 in 2007, to Angles 8 in 2008, in 2012 the Swedish band reached its present form as Angles 9.
The line-up can be flexible however, depending on occasion and availability.
Whatever the size, the concerts of the group are always very exciting, moving and powerful.  “A punch in the stomach”, as Guy Peters put it.
The music is strong, cohesive and simple, performed by sophisticated players who can make any table turn. Any musical idea can come into full force in a fraction of a second. Everything is there: pathos, playfulness, energy and a certain kind of bliss, strong and emotional, that hits the audience every time. 
The compositions by Martin Küchen are drawn from all kinds of influences: a memory of a certain instrument played during childhood; modern, lively jazz like Chris McGregor’s “Brotherhood of Breath”, Carla Bley, Charles Mingus and Lars Gullin; Balkan party music; Swedish folk music; watching female dancers in West Africa turning the world upside down. The compositions, however, are very distinctive throughout.

“Martin Küchen and his cohorts present us with big band music that frames grand and expansive moments within minimalist and quite improvisational borders. It is exhilarating, shiver-inducing music, but with a contemplative and spiritual thread passing through it.” – Antonio Poscic, Freejazzblog (Injuries)

Angles 9 come at you as a boisterous, mini big band, with poignant melodies, similarly captivating rhythms and deceptively unruly music that mines the tension between sorrow and joy, with winning results. (NPR Music Jazz Critics Poll)

“This was no less then a triumph. An exciting party of exaltation and color, an emotional roller coaster, a punch in the stomach. You don’t get them often as complete as this. Angles is the band of the moment that cannot be beaten.” (Guy Peters)

Like them on Facebook.

Press about Angles 9 | Music of Angles 9 | Videos of Angles 9 | Photos of Angles 9 | Concerts of Angles 9 |