Back with Fire! Orchestra 

Posted on by
photo of Fire! Orchestra by Johan Bergmark 

After a break of a few years I am back working with Fire! Orchestra again.

The present, 17-piece version consists of Mats Gustafsson (baritone sax and flute), Delphine Joussein (flute and electronics), Susana Santos Silva (trumpet), Goran Kajfes (trumpet), Mats Ă„leklint (trombone and sousaphone), Heida Karine Johannesdottir (tuba), Fredrik Ljungkvist (clarinet, tenor sax), Mette Rasmussen (alto sax), Anna Högberg (alto sax), Josefin Runsteen (violin),Julien Desprez (guitar), Martin Hederos (fender rhodes and organ), Alexander Zethson (keyboards), Johan Berthling (bass), Juan Romero (percussion), David Sandström (vocals and drums), Blanche Lafuente (drums and electronics), Mikael Werliin (sound).

Listen to their latest album Echoes 

Available for (summer) festivals!

Category: Uncategorized

First album Rodrigo Amado The Bridge

Posted on by

“Beyond the Margins”, the first album of The Bridge, will be released on Trost records October 20.

It is a registration of one of their first concerts, at Pardon, To Tu, Warsaw, October 2022.

You can already listen.

From the liner notes by Guy Peters:
(…) this band truly delivers: there is the level of interplay, the malleable sound these four conjure up; there is the freedom and the eagerness to push things forward; and finally, there is the tangible gravitas of their combined artistry. The band’s founder must have known what he was getting himself into.

(…) When they finally played, they did it with that untamed sense of control that you get when you find yourself in the company of artists who allow the music to move in the direction it needs. That is also what you hear on Beyond the Margins: the sound of four imaginative masters combining craft and bold imagination with patience and determination. Never gets old.

Tour periods of the Bridge: November 24-30, 2023; April 2-7, 2024; May 30-June 6, 2024; October 17-27, 2024.

Category: Uncategorized

Posted on by
Category: Uncategorized

David Murray’s new quartet

Posted on by
photo by Jules Allen

David Murray (saxophone & bass clarinet)
Marta Sanchez (piano)
Luke Stewart (bass)
Russell Carter (drums).

After a week long sold out premiere at the Village Vanguard in New York (watch), David Murray’s new quartet is ready to tour Europe!
The combination of David Murray’s mastery along with the infusion of this powerful elite of the New York jazz scene is a force to be reckoned with. The fierceness of Marta Sanchez on the piano, the poetry and dexterity of Luke Stewart on the bass, and the driving pulse of Russell Carter on the drums is a perfect fit for the leading saxophonist of his era.

Category: Uncategorized

New Schlippenbach trio

Posted on by

The Schlippenbach trio has been an institution on the European improvised music scene for over fifty years now. Von Schlippenbach started the trio in 1970, with Evan Parker on saxophone and Paul Lovens (in recent years Paul Lytton) on drums.

In 2020 the line-up of the trio changed, with clarinetist Rudi Mahall and Norwegian drummer Dag Magnus Narvesen joining Von Schlippenbach.

By now they played a few concerts together, and December 4-10, 2023 they will embark on their first Winterreise!

Category: Uncategorized