Mats Gustafsson’s NU ensemble

Mariam Wallentin – vocals
Anders Nyqvist – trumpets
Mats Gustafsson – saxephones, electronics
Joe McPhee – trumpet, tenor sax, space organ
Christer Bothén – bass clarinet, guimbri
Agustí Fernández – piano, organ
Kjell Nordeson – vibes, drums, flexatone, glockenspiel
dieb13 – turntables
Per Åke Holmlander – tuba
Jon Rune Strom – bass
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten – bass
Paal Nilssen-Love – drums








Since its start in 1997, this is the sixth version of the NU ensemble. A new piece, a new line-up, a new theme.

After previous editions have focused on the Sami culture, Patti Smith, Ligeti, architecture and more, this time the inspiration comes from Little Richard.

HIDROS 6 – Knockin is built on elements of his music and his lyrics – all deconstructed and put together again by this international group of musicians from the worlds of improvised music, free jazz, noise and contemporary music from Sweden, Norway, Spain, Austria and the US.

‘HIDROS 6 – Knockin’, dedicated to the music and lyrics of Little Richard, was first performed and recorded at Krakow Jazz Autumn 2013 (with Stine Janvind Motland, vocals, and Peter Evans, trumpet)

Complete BOX SET of HIDROS 6 (2lp set) and small groups (CDs), DVD/Blu Ray and book available from Not Two Records. Limited edition.

Press about NU Ensemble | Music of NU ensemble | Video of NU ensemble